top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

something like poetry

"there is a moment between not knowing and knowing

there is an exact moment that exists there.


right after

you will never not know that thing again

and right before

you will never again not know it."


if you are moving too fast

I promise you will miss it.


...


it is just a passing thought, really,

jotted down late at night

something someone thought was worth remembering.


but it is more.

it is something like poetry.

in the way that you know the idea is bigger than the words.


true, there are no metaphors,

no alliteration,

no rhyming scheme and


yet it makes me feel how poetry does.


like it doesn't have to exist for any other reason than to put words to something.

and to feel what it is like to wrap your mouth around what you never have before,


...


maybe this moment of

in and between

is not so important to you.

and maybe that's okay.


there is nothing profound to say of this

in and between

moment.


just that it is there.

and that it makes me feel something,

something like poetry.


AMV


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page