top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety.

My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged

by something outside myself.


Something unwelcome.

Something devastating.

Something utterly unrelenting, undiscerning

in its total and complete annihilation of the land I have cultivated for myself.


I take up the defensive.

The intruder in my sacred space

brings me fear and takes my security.


There is a battlefield under my skin.

Across my whole body, I feel it.


It feels like explosions, the gnashing of teeth,

the ache of conflict, violence brought on

by an unknown power somewhere out there.


I hate to feel war take place in myself.

Defending the only thing that is truly mine.

My body, my sanity.


In my sacred space, nothing else is ever so violent,

dramatic, woeful as this. It is the single cloud in an

endless blue sky.


And it feels like the end of everything,

but really, it's just passing through.


All in a day's work.

To conjure up some tactical, military maneuver

to outlast, to live to fight another day.


Depleted of my resources,

I am still.

I have always been.

The unseen battle raging beneath the surface.


I try to hide in the corners,

in the dark shadows of my insides.

I hold my breath

and pray that I can survive this one more time.


The same prayer I prayed the first time,

and the last time, too.


Here I have planted a garden.

Tended to the soil.

Nurtured what grew.


I watch it burn before my eyes.

I wait for the smoke to clear.

For the distant sounds of enemies to fade.

I emerge to clear the debris

and start my garden again.


Exhausted, I carry on.


AMV




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Ben Venuti, Pimlico, London, UK

Why do I cherish a rainy day on a loud street corner here? I am different on this street corner. Sitting under this awning, drinking the greatest hot chocolate I have ever had. Enjoying the quiet comp

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page