top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

only partly

I never feel anymore

I never taste anymore

I never smell anymore

I never listen anymore

I never see anymore

I mean,

I touch, but I don’t feel

I,

I eat but I don’t taste

I sniff but I do not smell

I hear but I cannot seem to listen

I look but I do not see

I use my hands,

I use my mouth,

I use my nose,

my ears,

eyes

but only partly.

I’ve forgotten to pay attention.

Well, I say I’ve forgotten

but I don’t know if there was ever a time when I truly experienced the world

fully

and deeply

in every

~sense~

of the word.

I’ve simply forgotten.

For my hands still feel the heat under your skin as they move along your body

My mouth still knows the sensation of a decadent dessert, a savory meal, full of flavor

your kisses

My nose still flares at the scent of lavender, ylang ylang, sweat

My ears still hear the sounds of songs my brain has kept all the words to safely tucked away, knowing I would need them again.

My eyes stare deep into yours, my eyes dart quickly trying to take it all in and tears still fall


I’ve simply forgotten to notice.

I'd like to remember.

AMV

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page