top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

not that you asked

but if someone were to ask

what I might call this chapter of my life

I would say

The Great Unravelling


its like this

let's say that I was handed this beautiful ball of yarn

the moment I was born


and you would think that a baby would unroll a ball of yarn or get it all tangled up

but not me

not this ball of yarn


for whatever reason I became so memorized by the colors

the texture

I simply stared at it

in awe


and awe is a wonderful thing to experience


it sat on my shelf

I grew and grew

and the ball of yarn remained

just a beautiful as ever

if a little faded in some places


and the ball of yarn remained

and I never questioned a thing


until I did


and maybe it was an accident how the ball of yarn got knocked off the shelf

and maybe I picked it up and started the unravelling myself


either way

here we are

here I am

with handfuls of yarn

unraveled in my lap

tears in my eyes


I couldn't accept the ball of yarn

as it was anymore

I had to know what was inside

how every twist and turn

wove together to create this ball of yarn

I had never known


nothing about the ball of yarn ever changed

it was me

something in me changed


and I needed to know.

and that is how I feel about my life right now.


Like I was handed all these things about myself and about life

and I didn't question them

I carried them and obeyed like the good little girl I tried

so desperately hard to be


but I can't keep carrying all these things around anymore

not without learning more


not without unravelling


and its a scary place to be

because there is no way to put the ball of yarn back the way it was


you can't un-know something once you know it


but I want to know it

and I want to weave the yarn into something beautiful

something I made myself

for myself


a sweater, perhaps.


AMV



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page