top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

not specific enough

You question and you may end up back where you started but you got there in a new way.

This is good. This is important.


...

I was recently reminded of the implications of ascribing the labels of good and bad to things, and our tendency to do this a ridiculous amount.

I’m trying now to stop using good and bad altogether.

Because that is never actually what I mean, what I want to say.

It is not specific enough.

Sometimes when I have said good I really meant:

beautiful

wonderful

joyful

lovely

smart

helpful

vulnerable

happy

appreciated

important

Sometimes when I have said bad I really should have said:

hurtful

scary

overwhelming to me

incomprehensible

heartbreaking

confusing

frustrating

oppressive

ignorant

belittling

And so, we question why it is that we do the things we do, that we say the things we say.

And it is good. It is beautiful.


AMV

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page