top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

for the people

For the people who taught me how to think for myself,

Thank you.

I arrived with beliefs that I had inherited.

Passed down from generations past.

And while I don’t think all those beliefs are bad, you helped me understand why I believe what I do.

You scared me.

I jumped. Dropped everything I thought I knew on the floor. And as I began to pick them back up, this time I studied each one. Put it under a microscope. Asked if it was worth hanging on to.

You made me think differently.

You held my hand while I began to ask questions, though I don’t know if you know that.

You motioned me forward.

You told me to straighten my spine.

You looked me in the eye.

You demanded that I not apologize for the space that I took up.

You told me what you believe. You told me why.

You let me ask questions and learn.

And I moved a little closer.

And now I turn around, to welcome the new ones.

The ones who, just like me, will arrive carrying their beliefs in their arms.

Clutching those beliefs to their chest. Holding on for dear life

Eyes wide as if to ask, “what will happen now?”

What will happen now is you will learn, and you will struggle, and you will come out on the other side a little stronger than you are right now.

AMV

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page