top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

do any good

Ironically, telling me that

worrying

doesn’t do any good actually

doesn’t do any good for my

worrying.


Honestly, at this point all I can do is

treat this like I am a late night talk show host and

she

is my guest.

You, the audience might prefer she not be here.

After all, she is somewhat of a controversial figure.

But, all I can do now is

welcome her in,

offer her a seat,

cross my legs, adjust my posture, fold my hands together,

rest my elbows on the desk in front of me,

and start asking questions.


You know women in interviews are always being asked questions about

superficial things like who they are wearing

and other

meaningless things that are supposed to define and encompass the experience and depth of women (ridiculous)

and men always get asked about their work or ideas.

That sucks.


Perhaps she is less of a talk show interview guest and more of a house guest.

Yes, she has to be.

Instead of rigidly asking questions under the

bright lights and watchful eyes

of a live studio audience,

separated by the thick wood of a desk

keeping us from any real connection. Instead of this,

I invite her into my home. I show her the messy

vulnerable parts of my life.

and I let myself be inconvenienced

the way that you are inconvenienced

when you

have a house guest.

I offer her a seat here, in my own home.


And me,

my body curls itself up in the chair

the way that I feel most comfortable,

the way I have since I was a child,

sitting with my legs crossed under me in the

wide comfy chair that is mine.

My body does this instinctively

without consulting my brain.

It doesn't need to. My muscles memorized this long ago that

this is how I protect myself,

this is how I feel safe,

this is how I am as close to myself as I can possibly be.


Remembering my guest, I tilt my head and it is here that I call her by her name--

anxiety.

hello.

it is here that I am able to ask her the meaningful questions

I have been dying to ask because

I really do want to know her.

I need to know more than

who she is wearing

what is her skin routine,

and does she color her hair?

I need to know who she is

and why she is here

and what she is here to do.


not questions for the sake of

ratings or entertainment of the masses

but

for me

because I don't always ask the questions I want

because anxiety herself tells me people don't want to hear it.

They want

how are you

fine. how are you

good

simple. meaningless.

With her, though, I demand more.

I ask

how are you, really

and I mean it.


And I'm just trying my best and doing what I know how to do.

Oh, I want a relationship with her,

my fear,

the same way I want a relationship with my brother

or with God.

She knows me so intimately.


Here, I do not dismiss her.

Here I do not tell her that her being here does me no good.

Here I do not dismiss myself.

Here I sit

with the company I have always kept.

pleasantly inconvenienced by my guest.


AMV

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page