top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

another picnic table

I hope you think of me when you

hear someone talking just a little

too loud for wherever you happen to be.

I hope you think of me when you

see someone wearing yellowed checkered vans.

I hope you think of me when you

put your hair in a little bun on the top of your head


after all, I taught you how to do that.

I hope you think of me when you

hear someone wheeze with laughter.

I hope you think of me when you

bake those cookies.

I hope you think of me when you

drive past panda express.

I hope you think of me when you

see those canvases that I painted you.


the ones that still hang in your room or

sit in the back of your closet.

the ones you took with you when you

moved because you just can seem to throw them away.

I hope you think of me whenever you

get around to watching the last 4 Harry Potter movies,


but maybe you never will.

I hope you think of me when you

are watching the rain pour from behind your window,


listening to the sounds and just being.

I hope you think of me when you

hear that song.

I hope you think of me when you

drive with the windows down and the radio up,


realizing that you do not know what to do

with your hand when it is not holding mine.

I hope you think of me when you

go to the theater and sit in the last row.

I hope you think of me when you

find yourself seated once again in

the second to last row of LB125.

I hope you think of me when you

see the people that we both call friends


and maybe wonder how I am.

I hope you think of me when you

sit at a picnic table,


remembering another picnic table in the cold in the middle of the night.

I hope you think of me when you

walk by frog baby.


I hope you think of me when you

decide to do something very brave;


I hope you hear the echoes of my voice

saying how proud I am.


I hope you think of me when you

communicate with the people you still love.

I hope you think of me when you

are scrolling through Netflix and pass

that show that we had just started watching.

I hope you think of me when you

finally go to Australia.

I hope you think of me when you

see a couple holding hands,

laughing,

kissing.

I hope you think of me when you

see someone with really cool earrings on.

I hope you think of me when you

watch a movie that you think is stupid,


knowing that I would probably love it.

And I imagine that you do,

and I imagine that you will.

And I imagine that there will also be a time

when you will not.

When yellow checkered vans will

make you think of someone else.

When you will

put your hair up without a second thought.

When that song will

just be another song on your playlist.

And I imagine that I will do the same.

With longboards.

With letters I can’t convince myself to get rid of.

With indie films.

With BROCKHAMPTON.

With cooking.

With that dress of mine that you liked so much.

With those earrings that you gave me.

With men whose heads stick out above

the crowds,

when I will hope or perhaps fear for just a moment

that it is actually you I see.


With the first poems I ever wrote- I cannot deny that they are riddled with you.

AMV

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page