top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAMV

an absence of normal

What if we used this moment in history to eradicate the word,

the concept of "NORMAL".


It's alarming, yes?


No, but seriously, just hear me out.

What if emerging on the other side of a pandemic

wasn’t so hard because we weren’t trying

to get back to a NORMAL,


but rather, we were just trying to be where we are.

What if we stopped othering

by discontinuing NORMAL.

if there is no NORMAL there is no ABNORMAL

there only is.

there only is.

And what if denying the concept of NORMAL,

What if it releases us, liberates us from the constructs telling us

how to,

who to be.

And what if we are better for it.

And what if we start striving for a higher purpose

because we are not so hellbent on being NORMAL anymore.

And what if the way that we choose to be,

with this new absence of NORMAL,

sets the stage for generations of liberation, empowerment, opportunity.

What if we stop trying to be NORMAL, and we just tried to be.

We are not so good at that,

NORMALLY.

but now we can be

if we want to be

we can be

we can be

we are.

Feel and see and know that the weight of NORMAL -and damn has it always been so heavy?- is lifted from our beings.


What if we stand taller,

what if we feel more deeply,

what if we change the things that are problematic in our society,

because we are no longer afraid of messing up our precious NORMALCY.

Even NORMATIVE,

a word, a concept that points out the absurdity of the illusion of NORMAL

The words themselves become obsolete.

Until the dictionary doesn’t even include them any more

Until NORMAL is just another word

another word

that used to mean something.

lost in the vastness of time, history.

"NORMAL"


Incapable of withstanding a generation of people that simply chose

not to be it.


(What if it was that easy to escape?)


A people unwilling to settle for

less than what they could do,

could be.


less than what they are.


impossibly, utterly, unapologetically

not

normal.


AMV

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate war metaphors

I am feeling taken over by anxiety. My body is a land that is being colonized, ravaged by something outside myself. Something unwelcome. Something devastating. Something utterly unrelenting, undiscern

now streaming WE CAN DO HARD THINGS by tish melton

a collection of affirmations to say and know: I am resilient. I listen to and trust my own desires. I am my own. I do not apologize for who I am. I am brave and vulnerable. There are things only I can

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page